February 22, 2024, Thursday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

Four leftist parties form a Socialist Front

The Nepal Weekly
June 20, 2023

Ruling parties CPN (Maoist Centre), People’s Socialist Party (JSP), CPN (Unified Socialist) Party, and CPN Communist Party (JSP), have jointly announced the Socialist Front Nepal amidst a programme in Sabhagriha, Kathmandu on Monday.

By signing on a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) four major parties have announced the formation of the Socialist Front Nepal.

On the MoU CPN (MC) chair and Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, CPN-US chair Madhav Kumar Nepal, JSP Nepal chairperson Upendra Yadav and NCP General Secretary Netra Bikram Chanda have put their signature jointly.

According to the party sources, initial preparations are being made to create a two-level structure to operate the front while long-term preparations are being made for the formation of a coordination committee consisting of top leaders and representatives from each political party.

The parties associated with the Socialist Front have a combined strength of 54 lawmakers in the House of Representatives, including 32 from the Maoist Centre, 12 from the Janata Samajbadi Party and 10 from the Unified Socialist. However, NCP doesn’t have any seat in the HoR. The four party grouping will give challenge to opposition CPN-UML led by K.P. Oli. Prime Minister Prachanda, however, claimed that the front was not formed against any one. Prachanda also called other leftist parties including CPN-UML to join the newly formed front.