May 21, 2024, Tuesday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

UML’s Devraj becomes Speaker of the HoR

The Nepal Weekly
January 24, 2023
Speaker of House of Representatives Ghimire

Devraj Ghimire of the CPN-UML has been elected to the post of Speaker of the House of Representatives on Thursday. Nepali Congress Lawmaker Ishwori Neupane competed with UML Lawmaker Ghimire during the election for the post of the Speaker conducted on Thursday. Ghimire secured 167 votes against his rival Neupane during the election to win the election.

Ghimire of the CPN-UML and Nepali Congress (NC) lawmaker Ishwari Neupane had filed their candidacies for the post of Speaker. In the HoR meeting on Thursday, 167 votes were cast in favor and 100 against the proposal to elect Ghimire as the Speaker.

Out of 275 members of the House of Representatives, 268 participated in the voting while one Lawmaker remained neutral.

CPN-UML, CPN (Maoist Center), Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Rastriya SwatantraParty, Janata Samajwadi Party, Janmat Party, Nagarik Unmukti Party and independent MPs Amresh Kumar Singh, Prabhu Shah and Yogendra Mandal voted in favor of Ghimire.

Ghimire was elected a HoR member from Jhapa constituency No. 2.

Deputy Speaker Indira Rana Magar

Meanwhile, Rastriya Swatantra Party’s Indira Rana Magar beat Mukta Kumari Yadav of the Nepali Congress to become the Deputy Speaker of the HoR. Rana Magar received 166 votes in the parliament, where 264 lawmakers were present. Similarly, her rival candidate Yadav secured 97 votes in Friday’s election.