June 13, 2024, Thursday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

‘Election to Parliament and Provincial assembly concludes successfully with 61 percent turnout’

The Nepal Weekly
November 22, 2022
General Election-2022: Candidates can withdraw their names on Wednesday

The election to the House of Representatives and Provincial Assembly concluded successfully and peacefully on Sunday across the country except for some sporadic incidents, announced Chief Election Commissioner Dinesh Kumar Thapaliya during a post-election press briefing at the Election Commission Sunday evening.

On an average 61 percent polling was recorded across the country, Thapaliya shared adding a 25 year old youth was killed in Bajura district during scuffle between two groups Two other pesons also sustained injuries during the incident, he said. The security personnel have taken into control some people involved in trying to disrupt the election and they will be charged under existing legal provisions, he informed.

However, polling was postponed in 15 polling stations in four districts after some scuffle and debate arose, he said. The districts where polling were postponed include Nawalparasi, Surkhet, Gulmi and Bajura, where repollling will be conducted within two days.

The counting of votes will start from Sunday night itself and the counting will end within eight days, after which the results will be out, said Thapaliya.

Voting started peacefully across Nepal at 7 am in the morning and concluded in the evening with sporadic incidents in some places, he said. A minor explosion took pllace near Sharda Secondary School polling station in Dhangadhi Sub-metropolitan Cityi in Kailali district Sunday morning. However, no any damage to property or casualty to human occurred during the incident.

Some incidents of debate among party cadres occured at 11 places in Dhangadi, Gorkha and Dolakha districts without afffecting the polling, according to the Election Commission said.

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba casted his vote in Ruwakhola area of Dadeldhura district in far-Western Nepal. Similarly, K.P.Sharma Oli,chairman of CPN-UML and former Prime Minister cast his vote at the polling centre situated in Suryabinayak Municipality of Bhaktapur district.

Likewise, CPN-Maoist Centre chairman and former Prime Minister Pushpakamal Dahal “Prachanda” cast his vote at the polling centre located at Bharatpur Municipality in Chitawan district.