May 24, 2024, Friday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

NRNA elects new leadership with three presidents

The Nepal Weekly
March 29, 2022
ILO support to NRNA to help migrant workers

Non Resident Nepali Association (NRNA) elected  new leadership amidst controversy. Due to the conflict of interests between the leaders of the NRNA, three presidents have been elected for a single term. “The General Convention of NRNA has unanimously elected a new leadership under the chairmanship of Kul Acharya, Ravina Thapa, and Dr Badri KC,” said a press release.

The NRNA amended its statute to make provisions to elect three presidents after it was on the brink of a split. With 18 months of tenure remaining, provisions have been made for all three leaders to manage the NRNA for a period of six months each. 

Similarly, Bhusan Ghimire, DB Chhetri, Dharmaraj Adhikari, Durga Acharya, Govinda Shrestha, Dr Hemraj Sharma, Jay Prakash Gurung, Mahesh Shrestha, Naraya Acharya, Narendra Bhatt and RK Sharma were elected to vice presidents of the organization. Dr Bishnu Maya Pariyar and Yashmin Begum were elected women vice-presidents, while Raj Regmi, Roshan Thapa, and Himal Gurung were elected youth vice president. 

Similarly, Gauriraj Joshi, Keshav Poudel were elected to the post of General Secretary while Ganesh KC, Dr Devi Basnet, Narayan Kafle, Om Gurung, Ram Sharan Sinkhada and Binay Adhikari were elected to the post of Deputy-General Secretary. 

Chiranjivi Ghimire, Gangadhar Gautam, Khagendra Neupane, Pravin Gurung, Sankar Khadka, Abhiman Singh Basnet, Pramod Sitaula, Govinda Gautam, Hom Pandey, and Rajan Tripathi were elected to the post of Secretary while Dr Alili Pokhrel and Tika Gurung were elected to the post of Secretary from the women cluster. 

Sunil Shah, Lok Dhakal, and Phanindramani Pokhrel were elected to the post of Treasurer while Deepak Sharma, Hom Gautam, Krishna Timalsina, Lal KC and Milan Chantyal, Naraya Subedi, Tanka Gaire, and Yagya Subedi were elected to the post of Joint-Treasurer. From the women cluster, Amrita Thapa, Yamuna Bhattarai, and Yogita Thapa were elected to the post of Joint-Treasurer. 

Similarly, Abdul Waseed and Rabindra Khadka were elected to the post of youth coordinator, while Bimmla Sapkota and Sangita Marhattha were elected to the post of women coordinator. 

Som Sapkota and Shiva Baduwal were elected to the post of Spokesperson. Issuing a 14-point manifesto, the newly-elected leaders took part in an oath taking ceremony. Outgoing President of NRNA Kumar Panta was also present during the occasion.