June 13, 2024, Thursday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

Gagan, Bishwoprakash elected NC general secretaries

The Nepal Weekly
December 16, 2021

As per the latest result of the ongoing vote counting during the 14th General Convention of the Nepali Congress, Gagan Kumar Thapa and Bishwaprakash Sharma have won the positions of the General Secretaries of the ruling party.

Thapa secured 3,023 votes while Bishwaprakash Sharma got 1,984 votes in the election. Similarly, other candidates- Dr Prakash Sharan Mahat got 1,550 votes, Pradip Poudel 1,409, Dr Minendra Rijal 809 and Dr Rajaram Karki received 107 votes.  

A total of 4,679 votes were cast in the NC election held on Monday under the 14th General Convention of the party.

Earlier, leaders Purna Bahadur Khadka and Dhanraj Gurung have been elected Vice Presidents of the Nepali Congress party in the election. 

Khadka secured 2,121 votes while Gurung received 1,908 votes to emerge victorious for the post, according to the NC sources. There is a provision of two general secretaries and  two vice-presidents in the central working committee as per the party statute. 

Khadka was the candidate for secretary from Deuba panel while Gurung was the contesting the election representing Shekhar Koirala panel. Another candidate for Vice-President, Bijaya Kumar Gachchhadar has been defeated by just two votes. He secured 1,906 votes. 

As per the party sources, Dr Chandra Bhandari received 1,580 votes, Sujata Koirala 644, Mahesh Acharya 589 and Divyaswori Shah 132 votes.