July 20, 2024, Saturday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

India wins T20 World Cup

The Nepal Weekly
July 2, 2024
My heart rate was up': MS Dhoni's first Instagram post in 2024 as India win  T20 World Cup | Mint

India has won the 9th edition of ICC T20 World Cup-2024. India became champions after defeating South Africa by seven runs in a thrilling final in Barbados on Saturday night. This is India’s second T20 World Cup title. Earlier, India won the first edition in 2007. Chasing the target of 177 runs given by India for victory, South Africa was reduced to 169 runs for the loss of eight wickets in the scheduled 20 overs.

Classen Henrik scored the highest 52 runs for South Africa. Similarly, Keeton de Kock scored 39, Tristan Stubbs scored 31 and David Miller added 21 runs. India’s Hardik Pandey took three wickets in bowling. Arsdeep Singh and Jasprit Bumrah took two wickets each and Akshar Patel took one wicket.

Earlier, after winning the toss, India batted first and scored 176 runs for the loss of seven wickets in the scheduled 20 overs. Virat Kohli scored the highest 76 runs for India. He added the run with the help of 6 fours and two sixes in 59 balls. Similarly, Akshar Patel scored 47 runs and Shivam Duve scored 27 runs. In bowling, South Africa’s Keshav Maharaj and Enrique Nortje took two wickets each. Marco Jansson and Kagiso Rabada took one wicket each. South Africa’s dream of making it to the finals of the World Cup for the first time did not come true. India and South Africa were undefeated and reached the finals.

20 teams competed in this World Cup organized by America and West Indies. Nepal, who played the World Cup for the second time, was eliminated from the group stage. Nepal had previously played the World Cup held in Bangladesh in 2014.

Meanwhile, after winning the T20 World Cup for India, Virat Kohli has also announced his retirement from T20 international cricket. He has also mentioned that he announced his retirement to advance the new generation. This is the first World Cup title for Virat, who has played the T20 World Cup for the sixth time.