February 22, 2024, Thursday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

Australia becomes the world champion

The Nepal Weekly
November 21, 2023
Top National Cricket Teams And World Cup Winners - WorldAtlas

Australia has won the title of the 13th edition of the cricket world cuo after disappointing the home team India by six wickets. Australia was declared the World Cup Champion for the sixth time, silencing the Narendra Modi Cricket Stadium in Ahmedabad, India.

After losing the toss and batting, India posted a modearte total of 240 runs losing all their wickets in 50 overs. Australia who are playing the final for the eighth time, won the trophy after losing four wickets in 43 overs and collecting 241 runs.

India had won the consecutive matches before losing the final. After losing two matches, Australia performed brilliantly. Australia lost India in the first match of the league stage and South Africa in the second match. Australia defeated South Africa in the semi-finals to score the final. India defeated New Zealand in the last four match.

Earlier, Australia won the World Cricket Championship in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015. India’s dream of becoming world champion after 12 years was broken. Earlier, in 2011, when the World Cup was held at India, India became the champion. One lakh 32 thousand spectators present in the match. India’s Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Australia’s Deputy Prime Minister Richard Marles were also present in World Cup cricket final.