July 25, 2024, Thursday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

All 10 parliamentary committees get chiefs elected unanimously

The Nepal Weekly
August 29, 2023

The ten thematic committees under the House of Representatives (HoR) got their leadership elected Monday, nine months after the HoR was formed. 

The thematic committees include finance, international relations and tourism, industry and commerce and labour and consumer interests, law, justice and human rights, agriculture, cooperative and natural resources committee. The HoR meeting convened today elected the Presidents of the thematic committees. Nominations were registered for the elections in 10 thematic committees last Sunday. Sole candidacies were registered in nine committees while two candidacies in two committees namely Industry, Commerce, Labour and Consumer Interest Committee.     

Those committees receiving single nomination have been elected as the President of the respective committee while Janamat Party’s Abdul Khan has been elected President of the Industry, Commerce, Labour and Consumer Interest Committee after his contender Ganesh Parajuli of Rastriya Swatantra Party withdrew his candidacy, according to the Federal Parliament Secretariat.     

Nepali Congress (NC)’s parliamentarian Santosh Chalise has been elected President of the Finance Committee while Janata Samajwadi Party’s Raj Kishore Yadav was elected the chair of International Relations and Tourism Committee.     

Similarly, CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Bimala Subedi has been elected to the Law, Justice and Human Rights Committee while NC’s Arzu Rana Deuba has been elected chairperson of the Agriculture Cooperatives and Natural Resources, Kiran Kumar Sah has been elected President of the Women and Social Affairs Committee while Ramhari Khatiwada to the State Affairs and Good-Governance Committee, informed the Secretariat.     

Rastriya Prajatantra Party’s Deepak Bahadur Singh has been elected President of the Infrastructure Development Committee while CPN (Unified Socialist)’s Bhanubhakta Joshi to the Education, Health and Information Technology. CPN (UML)’s Rishikesh Pokharel has been elected to lead the Public Accounts Committee. The Secretariat is preparing for swearing-in ceremony for the newly elected chairpersons of the Committees today itself.