April 18, 2024, Thursday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

CM Thapa wins trust vote in Koshi

The Nepal Weekly
August 22, 2023

Chief Minister of Koshi Province, Uddhav Thapa, has won the vote of confidence in the Provincial Assembly on Monday.

Altogether 47 votes were cast in favor of the Thapa. The  vote of confidence for the post of the chief minister requires the support of at least 47 members in the 93-member provincial assembly.

Around 29 members of the provincial assembly from Nepali Congress, 13 from CPN (Maoist Center), four from CPN (Unified Socialist) and one from Janata Samajwadi (JSP) voted in favor of CM Thapa, according to sources close to Nepali Congress. Acting chair of the Provincial Assembly Israil Mansuri also voted in Thapa’s favour. Mansuri was assigned to head the Provincial Assembly as Deputy Speaker of the PA Srijana Danuwar was absent in the assembly meeting citing health reason.

Similarly, 30 votes were cast against Thapa in the voting. The Provincial Assembly members of the CPN-UML voted against the motion.

There were altogether 77 members of Koshi Provincial Assembly during the voting. Provincial Assembly members from the Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) with six members did not attend the meeting.

Thapa became the chief minister of Koshi Province on August 1 with the support of two or more parties as per the Article 168(2) of the Constitution. There is a constitutional provision that the chief minister must take the vote of trust from the Provincial Assembly within 30 days of appointment.