July 25, 2024, Thursday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

Nepal wins the five match series against Malaysia

The Nepal Weekly
June 6, 2023
Nepal Women's team beat Malaysia in a thrilling final to claim 3-2 Series  Win - Female Cricket

Nepal has won the title of the five-match T-20 women’s series against Malaysia. Nepal won the title by defeating the home team Malaysia by 3 wickets in Sunday match at YSD UKM Oval Cricket Ground in Malaysia. Nepal won the five-match series 3-2. Nepal completed the target of 110 runs given by Malaysia by losing 7 wickets in 19.2 overs. For Nepal, Sita Ranamagar contributed 34 runs in 37 balls with the help of 6 fours. Similarly, captain Rubina Chhetri scored 23 runs in 30 balls with the help of 3 fours. Apsari Begum remained unbeaten on 15 runs while Jyoti Pandey added 11 runs. Hamiza Hashim took 2 wickets for Malaysia.

 Before that, Malaysia, who lost the toss and batted first, scored 109 runs after losing 5 wickets in the scheduled 20 overs. For Malaysia, Wan Julia scored 47 runs off 60 balls while Winifred Durai Singham added 24 runs off 25 balls. Similarly, Mahirah Izzati Ismail scored 20 runs off 31 balls. On the bowling side, Kabita Joshi of Nepal took two wickets while Ishwori Bista took one wicket. In the first match, Nepal was defeated by five wickets and in the second match, Nepal defeated Malaysia by seven wickets. Similarly, while Nepal won by 27 runs in the third match, Malaysia defeated Nepal by 6 wickets in the fourth match.