November 30, 2023, Thursday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

Argentina wins the World Cup

The Nepal Weekly
December 20, 2022

After 36 years, Argentina won the World Cup for third time. Argentina won the title by beating France 4-2. The best 32 teams of the world participated in the great tournament that lasted for a month from November 20 in Qatar. Qatar, which made its debut as the host of the World Cup, and the 31 selected nations played 64 different matches.  

The 22nd edition of the FIFA World Cup held in Qatar has scored the highest number of goals so far. With 6 goals scored in the final match between Argentina and France, scored 172 goals so far in the World Cup. In the Qatar World Cup, France scored the most 16 goals, while the world champion Argentina scored 15 goals. While England scored 13 goals from 5 matches, Portugal scored 12 goals from the same match. Netherlands scored 10 goals. Argentine captain Lionel Messi, who won the Golden Ball along with the World Cup title, has also written another record in his name.  Along with the winner of the World Cup, all the teams participating in the World Cup have received cash prizes. World Cup winners Argentina receive the FIFA World Cup trophy. The price of which is said to be equal to 20 million US dollars. The trophy, studded with 18 carat gold, is 36.8 cm tall and weighs 6.1 kg. Along with the title, the World Cup winner also won a huge cash prize. Qatar World Cup winner Argentina received the highest ever amount of 42 million US dollars. That is 4 million more than France, who won the World Cup in Russia four years ago. Similarly, 7 million more than the 2014 Brazil World Cup. Similarly, France, who settled for the runner-up position, received a prize of US$ 30 million.