June 6, 2023, Tuesday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

Three former, one present PM got elected to HoR

The Nepal Weekly
November 29, 2022

The election to the Federal Parliament held on November 20, elected incumbent Prime Minister and three former Prime Minsters to the House of Representatives under direct voting. Besides Prime Minister and Nepali Congress president Sher Bahadur Deuba, CPN-Maoist chairman Pushpakamal Dahal “Prachanda”, CPN-UML chairman K.P. Sharma Oli and CPN-Unified Socialist chairman Madhav Kumar Nepal have been elected to the federal Parliament.

However, former Prime Minister and senior leader of CPN-Unified Socialist Jhalanath Khanal has lost the election. CPN-UML’s Mahesh Basnet defeated Khanal, who had contested election from Ilam constituency No. 1.

Another ex-PM Baburam Bhattarai did not contest the lection but fielded his daughter Manushi Yami Bhattarai in the election. However, Manushi, who contested election from Kathmandu – 7 constituency lost the election. Manushi secured third position in Kathmandu – 7 constituency from where Ganesh Parajuli of newly formed Rastriya Swotantra Party was elected. Another ex-PM Lokendra Bahadur Chand, senior leader of pro-Hindu Rastriya Prajatantra Party, did not contest the election this time.