June 6, 2023, Tuesday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

Five ministers relieved from high positions

The Nepal Weekly
October 18, 2022

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba has sacked four ministers representing the Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) after the party distanced itself from the ruling coalition.

President Bidya Devi Bhandari relieved the ministers from their respective ministerial portfolios at the recommendation of Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba in line with Article 77 (2) of the Constitution of Nepal, reads a statement issued by the President’s Office.

Those who were removed from the ministerial position include Minister for Federal Affairs and General Administration Rajendra Shrestha, Minister for Forest and Environment Pradeep Yadav, Minister for Physical Infrastructure Mohammad Istiyak Rai and Minister for Agriculture and Livestock Mrigendra Kumar Singh.

The JSP has made electoral alliance with main opposition Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist Leninist) headed by K.P. Sharma Oli for the upcoming November 20 polls.

Similarly, Minister for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Gobinda Prasad Sharma (Koirala) has also been relieved from the portfolio as he could not be a member of the federal parliament within six months as stipulated in the Article 78 of the Constitution of Nepal.