July 20, 2024, Saturday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

Nepali parliamentary delegation calls on Bangladesh PM Hasina

The Nepal Weekly
August 9, 2022

An eight-member parliamentary delegation led by Pabitra Niroula Kharel, chairperson of the International Relations Committee of the House of Representatives of Federal Parliament of Nepal, called on Prime Minister of Bangladesh Sheikh Hasina at the latter’s office in Dhaka on Friday.

Discussions in the meeting focused on ways to build on bilateral cooperation and further consolidate economic ties between the two South Asian countries, according to a press release issued by Nepalese Embassy in Bangladesh.

Lawmaker Pabitra Kharel stressed on the need to enhance parliamentary exchanges between the two countries. The two countries could benefit if the cooperation on hydropower, trade, and tourism sectors were expedited through the existing mechanisms, she pointed out.

“Prime Minister Hasina recalled the contribution and support provided by Nepali leaders during the Liberation War of Bangladesh in 1971 and expressed satisfaction over the state of excellent bilateral relations existing between the two countries.” She highlighted the potentials existing in the fields of trade, energy, tourism, education, and people-to-people contacts, and underlined the importance of cooperation under BBIN framework, according to the press release.

On Thursday, the parliamentary delegation had an interaction with the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs of Bangladesh. The interaction focused on strengthening parliamentary relations including through the establishment of friendship groups in the parliaments of both countries.

Prior to this, a luncheon was hosted by Minister of State for Foreign Affairs of Bangladesh  Shahriar Alam in honour of the visiting delegation. The delegation also visited Bangabandhu Memorial Museum, Dhaka, to pay respect to the ‘Father of the Nation’ of Bangladesh.

Other members of the parliamentary delegation include Chandratara Kumari, Dr. Deepak Prakash Bhatt, Dev Prasad Timalsena, Lila Devi Sitaula, Narad Muni Rana, Sarala Kumari Yadav, and Under Secretary at Federal Parliament Secretariat Gopal Sigdel.

The delegation was on a visit to Bangladesh from 3-6 August 2022.