December 6, 2023, Wednesday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

Deuba nominates Poudyal, Singh, Nidhi, Koirala CWC members

The Nepal Weekly
January 4, 2022

Prime Minister and Nepali Congress (NC) President Sher Bahadur Deuba has nominated 13 party leaders including senior leaders Ramchandra Poudyal, Prakash Man Singh and Bimalendra Nidhi in the party’s Central Working Committee. In the first phase, Deuba nominated ten leaders, namely, Poudyal, Singh, Nidhi, Bijay Kumar Gachchhadar, Krishna Prasad Sitaula, Dr Prakash Sharan Mahat, Dr Narayan Khadka, Uma Regmi, Sujata Koirala and Min Bahadur Bishwakarma as CWC members.

Similarly, in the second phase, party president Deuba nominated Jeevan Bahadur Shahi, Pradip Poudel and Kalyan Kumar Gurung as the central members of the party. Poudyal did not contest the election during the 14th General Convention of the party while, Singh and Nidhi had contested for the post of party president. Similarly, Sujata was the candidate for the post of Vice-president under Singh panel. Similarly, Gurung was the independent candidate for party president where as Pradeep Poudyal was the candidate for general secretary from Deuba’s panel. Deuba, who was re-elected as the party’s president from its 14th general convention held in December, nominated them as central members in accordance with Article 21 (10) of the party’s statute, 2017 (with amendments), informed Krishna Prasad Poudel, chief secretary of the party office. As per the party’s statute, 134 office-bearers and members of the Central Working Committee were elected by the party’s 14th General Convention. Besides, there is a provision in the party statute to nominate 33 central members by the party President.