July 25, 2024, Thursday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

NC general convention kick starts

The Nepal Weekly
December 14, 2021

The 14th General Convention of ruling Nepali Congress kicked off in Kathmandu on Friday in which leaders of all the major political parties were invited.

 Prime Minister and NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba inaugurated the 14th General Convention of the party at Bhrikutimandap in Kathmandu in the presence of tens of thousands of party cadres and sympathizers.

More than 4,500 NC delegates will vote to elect the new executive body of the largest democratic party during the four day general convention. The party will elect party president, two party vice presidents, two general secretaries and eight joint general secretaries as also 134 Central Working Committee members.

The inauguration was attended by top leaders from all the major parties including CPN (Maoist Centre) Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, CPN (Unified Socialist) Chairman Madhav Kumar  Nepal, CPN-UML chairman K.P. Sharma Oli, Janata Samajwadi Party Chairman Upendra Yadav and Lokatantrik Samajbadi  Party Chairman Mahanta Thakur.

Addressing the opening ceremony Prime Minister and NC president Deuba called his party cadres to elect him to the post of party president for the second term, with the promise that he will make the largest democratic party victorious in the upcoming general election, so that next government will be led by Nepali Congress alone.

Leaders Prachanda, Oli, Nepal, Thakur and Yadav extended best wishes to the party on the occasion of the general convention.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Harsh Vardhan, who addressed the meeting as an invitee, remarked that “Nepal and India share similar culture, social cohesiveness and Hindutva.”

On the occasion, he also expressed wishes for the successful completion of the NC general convention on behalf of Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Jagat Prasad Nadda. The closed session of the general convention starts on Saturday when the candidates aspiring for different positions will file nomination papers.