July 25, 2024, Thursday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

Deuba, Singh and four others competing for NC President

The Nepal Weekly
December 11, 2021

Prime Minister and party president Sher Bahadur Deuba today filed nomination papers for the post of Nepali Congress president during the second day of the 14th general convention of the largest democratic party being held in Kathmandu.

Deuba’s presidency will be challenged by five other contestants including Prakash Man Singh, son of the Supreme Commander of the 1990 People’s Movement Ganesh Man Singh. Other contestants include Bimalendra Nidhi, son of Mahendra Narayan Nidhi and Shekhar Koirala, son of Nona Koirala, as the time for filing nomination papers concluded at 5 pm on Saturday, the number of those filing nomination for the party’s presidency reached six, according to party sources.

However, senior leader Ramchandra Poudyal and incumbent general secretary Shashanka Koirala have decided not to contest the election.

Similarly, seven aspirants of the party filed nomination papers for the post of two positions of Vice Presidents on the same day. Sujata Koirala, daughter of former Prime Minister Girija Prasad Koirala filed nomination for the post of Vice president from Singh’s team and party’s spokesperson Vishwo Prakash Sharma filed nomination paper for the post of general secretary from the same team.

Othe contestants for Vice presidents are Vijaya Gachhadar, Purna Khadka, Chandra Bhandari and Dhanaraj Gurung. Similarly, Gagan Thapa, Minendra Rijal, Prakash Sharan Mahat and Pradip Poudyal are also vying for the post of general secretary. A total of 4,743 general convention members of the party will exercise their voting rights during the election slated for Monday.

It requires fifty percent plus one votes to win the post of president. Second round of election for the post of president is most likely to take place, according to party insiders. If no one gets fifty percent plus one votes in the first round the second round of voting will take place between the candidates who secured first and second positions to elect the new president.