August 14, 2022, Sunday
Nepal 1:37:26 pm

NC Leaders are elected in provinces

The Nepal Weekly
December 7, 2021

Amar Singh Pun has been elected the President of the Nepali Congress (NC) Lumbini Province Committee. Of the total 1,631 votes cast, Pun got 867 votes from the voting held Sunday while his rival Bharat Kumar Shah secured 767 votes, according to Election Officer Buddha Bahadur Thapa.  

Similarly, Raju Khanal and Bhuwan Prasad Shrestha won the election for the post of vice-president while Bikram Khanal and Surendra Pandey made to the post of general secretary.    Bishnu Muskan, Khagaraj Pandey and Nima Giri have been elected to the post of assistant general secretary.    

Newly-elected President Pun is a NC leader from Rolpa while Shah is the Chairman of Public Accounts Committee of the House of Representative (HoR) of the Federal Parliament.    

In the mean time, results of three provinces have already been made public while counting continues in other three provinces. However the provincial committee general convention has become uncertain in Province-2.

Indra Baniya has been elected as Bagmati Province Committee chair of NC after defeating Jagadish Narshingh KC. Baniya received 1058 votes against KC’s 927 votes. Bir Bahadur Balayar has been elected Sudurpachim Province Committee chair of NC by defeating Narayan Dutta Mishra. Balayar secured 688 votes against Mishra’s 280. Entire panel of Balayar won the election in the province.

Likewise, Lalit Jung Shahi has been elected chair of the NC Karnali Province Committee by defeating Bhpendra Jung Shahi with a margin of 105 votes.   In the voting conducted on Saturday, Shahi got 422 votes while Bhupendra Jung got 317 votes, according to the election committee.    

In Gandaki Province, Shukraraj Sharma has been elected by defeating Arjun Prasad Joshi.    From the voting held on Saturday, Sharma was elected the Province Committee President by getting 612 votes against Joshi’s 528 votes, according to a member of election committee Bishnu Kushal Bhujel.  Kalpana Tiwari and Mekhlal Shrestha have been elected to the post of vice-president while Kiran Babu Shrestha and Bishnu Prasad Lamichhane were elected general secretary.    Likewise, Kopila Ranabhat, Ramesh Kumar Pandey and Ram Chandra Joshi were elected to the post of assistant general secretary, the election committee said.